Grammy winner Kacey Musgraves to present award at Oscars 2019

Singer-songwriter Kacey Musgraves has been added to the list of people who will be presenting the trophies to the winners at the upcoming 91st Academy Awards.

After the controversy related to Kevin Hart, this year many faces will be seen as presenters. Kevin Hart has announced he is stepping down as host of next year’s Oscars ceremony following an outcry over perceived homophobic comments and tweets from the comedian. Hart posted an apology to the LGBTQ community on Twitter for his past “insensitive words” and confirmed he would not take on the gig, so as not to be a “distraction”.
“I have made the choice to step down from hosting this year’s Oscars,” wrote Hart, who as well as his stand-up work is the star of films like Ride Along and Jumanji. This is because I do not want to be a distraction on a night that should be celebrated by so many amazing talented artists. I sincerely apologize to the LGBTQ community for my insensitive words from my past.”
Hart stated, “I’m sorry that I hurt people. I am evolving and want to continue to do so. My goal is to bring people together not tear us apart. Much love and appreciation to the Academy. I hope we can meet again.”
The 30-year-old musician, Kacey Musgraves, recently won the 2019 Grammy Album of the Year award for her critically acclaimed, genre-bending record "Golden Hour". Apart from this, she also won awards for best country album, best country song and best country solo performance.
According to Variety, the Academy is yet to announce which award Musgraves will present at the awards ceremony but it is expected to be one of the two music awards best original song and best original score.
She joins previously announced presenters -- Chris Evans, Brie Larson, Awkwafina, Daniel Craig, Tina Fey, Whoopi Goldberg, Jennifer Lopez, Amy Poehler, Maya Rudolph, Amandla Stenberg, Charlize Theron, Tessa Thompson, Constance Wu, Javier Bardem, Angela Bassett, Chadwick Boseman, Emilia Clarke, Laura Dern, Samuel L Jackson, Stephan James, Keegan-Michael Key, KiKi Layne, James McAvoy, Melissa McCarthy, Jason Momoa and Sarah Paulson.
Last year's Oscar winners, Alison Janney, Sam Rockwell, Gary Oldman and Frances McDormand will also be presenting awards at the 2019 ceremony.
The 2019 Academy Awards will be held on February 24. A replacement of actor Kevin Hart as the Oscars host is yet to be announced by the Academy.